#36: Meiji Period Painting of a Game of Go Beneath a Large Calligraphy Scroll



Whenever I look at this painting, I feel a calmness in how they play the game and yet I get a feeling that it’s probably an important game. It reminds me to stay calm and focused on the game no matter how important the game is. I also like the calligraphy scroll in the background. Not sure what it says but the calligraphy is beautiful and elegant. Paintings which have an inner version of painting or calligraphy are always very special in my eyes with their fine details.

The scroll is around 185.5cm x 59.5cm and the painting itself is around 113.5cm x 46.5cm.

I acquired this painting from a Japanese auction and the seller said that the painting seems to be from the Meiji period but has no further info on the painter.

This entry was posted in Go Sightings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #36: Meiji Period Painting of a Game of Go Beneath a Large Calligraphy Scroll

  1. bengozen says:

    What a beautiful painting. I really admire the calligraphy on there as well. What a great collector’s item!

Leave a Reply

